The International Women’s Media Foundation is offering the Courage in Journalism Awards for female Journalists in 2021.

Sexual harassment, threats, attacks, government oppression, a stubborn glass ceiling, unequal pay, accusations of fake news and a growing mistrust of the media all threaten press freedom around the world. And female journalists often feel the greatest brunt of these attacks. In fact, the number of female journalists killed in 2017 more than tripled from the year before.

The Courage in Journalism Awards show people that female journalists are not going to step aside, cannot be silenced, and deserve to be recognized for their strength in the face of adversity. It honours the brave journalists who report on taboo topics, work in environments hostile to women, and share difficult truths.

The IWMF also recognize the pioneers who kicked down barriers to make it possible for women all over the world to find their voices and make them heard. Lifetime Achievement Award winners persevered, opening doors for future generations to make a difference. These women demonstrate a commitment to press freedom and extraordinary strength of character, overcoming unjust conditions to become leaders in their industry.

Worth of Award

Now in its 31th year, the awards program honours three brave journalists – including photojournalists – working in any country across the world.


  • These women report on taboo topics, immerse themselves in hostile environments and share difficult truths.
  • In addition, the honorees demonstrate a commitment to press freedom and often overcome unjust conditions to become leaders in their industry.
  • Candidates for the Courage in Journalism Awards must be full-time staff or freelance women reporters, writers, editors, photographers or producers working in any country and of any nationality.
  • Self-nominations are not accepted.

How to Apply

Visit their website and click on the link provided in order to make your nominations

Deadline: The completed nomination must be submitted on or before March 1, 2021.

Click here for more details and to apply